The Premier of the Province is paid a salary of \$8,000 per annum and each of the other Members of the Cabinet \$6,000. The Members of the Legislature are each paid an indemnity and an allowance of \$2,500, being made up of \$1,670 indemnity and \$830 as an expense allowance. The Leader of the Opposition group in the Legislature is paid an additional amount of \$2,000. The Speaker of the Legislature is paid a salary of \$2,500 in addition to the indemnity and expense allowance.

20.—Lieutenant-Governors of Manitoba, 1870-1950, Legislatures and Premiers, 1934-50, and Present Ministry as at June 1, 1950

Note.—See headnote to Table 14, p. 85.

Lieutenant-Governors

Nance	Date of Commission	Name	Date of Commission
J. C. Patterson	Apr. 9, 1872 Dec. 2, 1872 Oct. 8, 1877 Sept. 29, 1882 July 1, 1888 Sept. 2, 1895	Sir Daniel H. McMillan. Sir Douglas C. Cameron. Sir James A. M. Aikins. Sir James A. M. Aikins. Theodore A. Burrows. J. D. McGregor. William Johnston Tupper. Roland Fairbairn McWilliams.	Aug. 3, 1916 Oct. 17, 19211 Oct. 9, 1926 Jan. 25, 1929 Dec. 1, 1934

¹ Second term.

Legislatures, 1934-501

Date of Legislature		Number	Date of	Date of
		of Sessions	First Opening	Dissolution
June 16, 1932 July 27, 1936 Apr. 22, 1941 Oct. 15, 1945 Nov. 10, 1949	20th General Assembly	5 5 4	Feb. 14, 1933 Feb. 18, 1937 Dec. 9, 1941 Feb. 19, 1946 Feb. 14, 1950	

¹ The Ministries from 1934-50 were: 12th Ministry, sworn in Aug. 8, 1922, under the leadership of Hon. J. Bracken; 13th Ministry, sworn in Jan. 14, 1943, under the leadership of Hon. Stuart S. Garson, K.C.; 14th Ministry, sworn in Nov. 13, 1948, under the leadership of Hon. D. L. Campbell.

² Life of Legislature not expired at time of going to press.

Fourteenth Ministry

[Party standing at latest General Election, Nov. 10, 1949: 43 Coalition (30 Liberal-Progressive, 9 Progressive-Conservative, 4 Independent), 14 Anti-Coalition (7 Co-operative Commonwealth Federation, 6 Independent, 1 Labour-Progressive).]

Note.—Ministers who have held office continuously are shown as at the date of original appointment, despite the formation of a new Ministry consequent upon the appointment of a new Premier.

Office	Name	Date of First Appointment	Date of Present Appointment
Premier, President of the Council, Minister of Dominion - Provincial Relations and Provincial Treasurer Minister of Agriculture and Immigration. Minister of Labour and Provincial Secretary. Municipal Commissioner for Manitoba. Minister of Mines and Natural Resources and Minister presiding over the Department of Industry and Commerce. Attorney General. Minister of Public Utilities. Minister of Health and Public Welfare Minister of Education. Minister of Education.	Hon. Douglas I Campbell Hon. Francis C. Beli Hon. Charles E. Greenlay Hon. Sauveur Marcoux Hon. John S. McDiarmid Hon. James O. McLenaghen Hon. Wiliam Morton Hon. Ivan Schultz Hon. C. Riodes Smith Hon. Errick F. Willis	Dec. 14, 1948 Feb. 15, 1946 Dec. 14, 1948 May 27, 1932 Nov. 4, 1940 Nov. 22, 1939 Sept. 21, 1936 Feb. 15, 1946	Nov. 13, 1948 Dec. 14, 1948 Dec. 14, 1948 Dec. 14, 1948 May 27, 1932 May 3, 1941 Dec. 14, 1948 Feb. 5, 1944 Nov. 4, 1940